Does Time Fly? Or: T minus 53 days

It has been 19 days since my last blog post.
That makes 456 hours.,
Or 27360 minutes.

And it feels like it has been yesterday. Which, when it comes to writing progress is not a good thing – as you might have guessed already! And it is not like I have not worked or took many days off as you can see on the charts below. Well that is not true, I did attend the British Universities and Colleges Sport Karate Championships in Sheffield at the end of February – where Edinburgh won as best University team for the fifth time in row! Personally I did not participate but cheered for my team mates and took some videos which can be found here.

My productivity index for February and March.

My productivity index for February and March. I nearly worked three times more in February compared to January!

At the moment I cannot see any progress on my PhD thesis. The last week I have spent learning how to write some simple code in R. It works now, but it took me quite a while to figure out how to get it to work! Now I can create beautiful graphs such as this:

Lower hemisphere, equal area stereoplot showing the slip tendency of a given stress field (it shows science!).

Lower hemisphere, equal area stereoplot showing the slip tendency of a given stress field (it shows science!).

Hopefully this will allow me to create some new science that (fingers crossed) someone will be interested in! However, it might be a bit late in my PhD to come up with such ideas…

There are some good news as well! I won’t do any work on my PhD for all this week! While this sounds contradicting it makes totally sense: I am able to do some consultancy work, which means a week worth of work but also that I can buy food in May. With that in mind the deadline of the 1st of May is not that strict anymore 🙂 Before the consultancy work I literally would not have been able to buy food or pay rent in May…. so maybe I will hand in in the middle of May 😉

The topic of not getting paid but still working on a PhD gets me very easily into *rage mode* and I might write a blog post about it on the weekend – on why I think it should not be that PhD students often have to finish their thesis without getting funded and why this in my opinion is the first step into the exploitative system of academia…

Leave a Reply

