Don’t panic! – Or T minus 72 days

In my last blog post I made a grave mistake. I wrote that I had 91 days left until I want to hand in my PhD. It turns out it was only 84… and now only 72 days! At the moment I am not sure how I feel about it – should I panic? Should I feel relieved? And most important of all – am I going to make it?

This is what I wanted to achieve when I wrote about writing up in December (ah, was I naive back then!):

12. January: Draft of Chapter 3.
6. February: Draft of Chapter 2.
1. March: Draft Chapter 1.
1 . April: Draft Chapter 4.
12. April: Draft of Chapter 5.
19. April: Appendix done

So far I haven’t even managed to make the 12. January deadline! However, I did not do nothing… I actually finished (I think) Chapter 2 (including Appendix) yesterday 🙂 Chapter 3 is to maybe 70% done (started Discussion this week) and I am hoping I can finish it by the end of February with only 1.5 months delay. I am still struggling with some software issues but have solved most of them. The big issue about my fourth chapter still is that I do not have a lot of data (and none that works), so that will be interesting to write!

I basically spent the last two weeks working away, and I can already feel that keeping that up for another 2 months or so is going to be quite exhaustive. I think my social life starts to suffer a bit as well, but that was expected to happen. I still haven’t found my perfect working pattern, but I think I am getting there. From next week on I want to change things up a bit and try to go for a (short) run every other afternoon, maybe that will help with some of the focus issues I have had in the late afternoon lately 🙂 I decided to not push my coffee consumption as I realized that I have sleeping issues if I have more than 4 cups a day (very surprising, is it not?).

 Yesterday I was able to get up early and take some pictures of the sunrise (not a good idea workwise – my productivity in the afternoon was close to zero) and I think I got a few good shots. Going outside and do something different helps me to put my work into perspective and to not get totally worked up about it!

IMG_9734-3

St. Abbs Head Lighthouse at sunrise!

Leave a Reply

