Coffee, fieldtrips and why it has been a while

You have probably been waiting for a new blog post for ages. I know I have! To be honest I am quite busy at the moment and haven’t done much interesting work (well none that I could publish here…). But as I want to keep my readership (probably about 3 people) entertained here some of my highlights from the last months:

At the start of June I was on a residential fieldtrip in the the NW highlands demonstrating 2nd year students. We stayed in Inchnadamph (see map below) and spent two weeks doing geology, geomorphology and some hydrology. And, as I had never been to the area before, I was absolutely amazed by the landscape, the geology and (who whould have thought) the good weather we had!

Map showing the location of Inchnadamph in the NW highlands of Scotland. (Image from Google Maps).

Map showing the location of Inchnadamph in the NW highlands of Scotland (Image from Google Maps).

As an enthusiastic hobby photographer I took *a lot* of pictures and some of the best can be found in this flicker album.

Image5

Sunset over Lock Assynt.

I also took a few timelapses, mainly of students doing work and some landscapes (watch in HD):

About two months ago we got a new coffee machine in our office and as a result my coffee intake has risen from 2 cups to about 3 cups a day. I only started taking note of my coffee intake after we got the machine and now I am experimenting on myself to see how coffee usage correlates with PhD writing up and other deadlines. At the moment the coffee intake seems to be kind of stable around 3 cups/day:

Cups of Coffee vs time. Lack of data at start of June is related to fieldwork.

Cups of Coffee vs time. Lack of data at start of June is related to fieldwork.

It’s just great what you can use R for! I’ll post an updated version of the chart in a few months 🙂

Leave a Reply

